Chums Cup and OG Memorial Award up for grabs as Nondies takes on Impala.

Spread the love
As the Kenya Cup and Eric Shirley Shield leagues resume this Saturday, Nondescripts RFC takes on Impala RFC in one of the most crucial games for the two clubs in any season.
League points will obviously be up for grabs, but the tie always serves as an emotional moment for both clubs which take the day to remember and honour two rising stars that were suddenly dimmed by death’s cold embrace.
Nondies and Impala will also be playing for the annual Chums Memorial Cup, as the most brilliant youngsters on the day battle it out for the OG Memorial Award.
Impala’s Timothy Makiya won the inaugural OG Memorial Cup last year.
The Chums Memorial Cup is contested between the two clubs, in honour of the late Samson “Chumreru” Odhiambo who sustained a head injury while on duty for Nondies in a 2002 Enterprise Cup game against KCB.
Chumreru, or Chums, had played for Impala before crossing over to Nondies.
Impala currently hold the Chums Cup, after getting a narrow 17-12 win over Nondies in last season’s Kenya Cup fixture.
The OG Memorial Award on the other hand came to be in 2017, in honour of Sylvester “OG” Ogeto Gecheo who succumbed to a spinal injury picked up in a Kenya Cup tie against Strathmore Leos. OG played for the Impala Academy before joining Nondies in 2016.
He was a younger brother to current Nondies chairman Auka Gecheo who has for over 15 years served the club selflessly and diligently.
The Eric Shirley Shield tie kicks off at noon at the Impala Club, while the Kenya Cup one starts at 4pm. The Kenya Cup game will be live on Bamba Sports.
ESS Squad: 1. Raphael Kathumira 2. Brian Itolondo 3. Fredrick Muga 4. Meshack Oluoch 5. Charles Ndirangu 6. Henry Fulbright 7. Godfrey Otieno 8. Duncan Okwako 9. Saidi Sumba 10. Mike Mitoko 11. Victor Obote 12. Michael Orwa 13. Mohammed Ramadhan 14. Brian Murila 15. Valentine Etyang.
Reserves: 16. Bellamy Kola 17. John Mululu 18. Yusuf Abdullahi 19. Brian Otieno 20. Japhet Otieno 21. Evans Kyalo 22. Thomas Ochieng 23. Brian Wahindi
Kenya Cup: 1. Ian Njenga 2. Frank Mutuku 3. Eric Shimoli 4. Brian Njenga 5. Brian Sinei 6. Levis Ochieng 7. Eric Okoma 8. Steven Odhiambo 9. Ian Mumbwani 10. Fielden Sinei 11. Brian Oyando 12. Eric Gitau 13. Francis Ochiel 14. William Otieno 15. Moses Begi 16. Oliver Tambo 17. Brian Itolondo 18. Stephen Darunga 19. Steven Otieno 20. Brian Amaitsa 21. Jeremy Matata 22. Augustin Nangole 23. Brian Safari

Leave a Reply

one × four =